Interaction

reaching-out-computer-screens

It has been brought to my attention from one of my followers – who also happens to live in the same house as I do and also happens to be married to me – that I need to be more interactive with my commenters and followers. Apparently, this “follower” has not been paying attention to any of the posts on this blog… or the behavior tendencies of her husband for the past fourteen years.

imagesCAYP6YOA

She also doesn’t know about the meth lab I have running in the basement.

Breaking news: I have Aspergers. Also breaking news: people with Aspergers are generally bad at interacting with others. So yeah, you could say that my people skills are not exactly up to par. When interacting with people, at best I come off awkward and strange. At worst, I come off like a heartless, uncaring sociopath. And I thought one of the goals of this blog was to attract readers, not repel them.

rs_560x415-130830150852-1024__miley-cyrus-twerk-vma_ls_83013

I would not be the first person to make that mistake.

With that being said… as much as it pains me to say so – because I’ll never live it down – this “follower” is right. I should be conversing with my commenters and followers. Sure, I can post personal and interesting things for you to read, but what better way to reach out than to talk to my readers and respond to their questions and comments directly? We might start a a conversation that never would have been explored without that direct level of interaction.

So, along with responding to emails, I will also be answering comments on my posts when the situation calls for it. And yes, I will also be responding to comments from that certain “follower” as well.

imagesCAWLBTY8

If I have the strength left after heaing “I told you so” 1,364 times.

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. clorindacentimo

    I have fallen in love with an aspie. I feel warmest and at ease when we are intimate and in our quiet moments. But I am frustrated when he flies off and can’t get what is hurting me.
    I haven’t discussed this with anyone including him. He has never disclosed that he is an aspie
    or that his son is autistic. I have pieced the clues together and I feel if the topic ever did get discussed it would hurt him too much am I wrong? Is this a safe topic?

    • Hmmmm… that’s a toughie. I always think that honest communication is best in a relationship, but if you just spring this on him, he may have a bad reaction. I only opened up to my aspie-ness after my daughter was diagnosed, and even then I didn’t accept it for quite a while.

      My take is this: try discussing your feelings about the interaction between you and him first. Make sure he knows you aren’t blaming him for anything, but let him understand your frustration. You might be able to use that as a stepping stone to figuring out why it is hard for him to connect to your feelings.
      (Note: Being an aspie, I am TERRIBLE at relationship advice, so my thoughts are just as likely to make things go horribly wrong as they are to help you out.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

