Aspie Attachments

4259180-girl-hugging-stuffed-animal-on-white-background

A funny thing happened the other day. Our family is in the process of transitioning from our family van to a smaller, more fuel-savvy vehicle. My wife and I were talking about our plans for selling the van when my aspie daughter piped up from the backseat, asking if we were really going to get rid of the van. I turned to see her on the verge of tears.

faces-_kai_belle

Incidentally, this is the same face she uses when she wants ice cream.

She was extremely upset. She didn’t want us to get rid of the van; she didn’t know how else we’d be able to drive around! “I don’t want to have to walk everywhere!” she cried. She was so attached to the van that she couldn’t even imagine having another car instead. And understandably so, I might add – we’ve had the van for pretty much three quarters of her lifetime. That would be the same as me getting rid of something I had for the last twenty five years.

old-briefs1

I can’t get rid of those. Those are my good pair!

I notice that I, too, often have strong attachments to inanimate objects. I’ve always felt compelled to say goodbye to every car I’ve traded in. I’ve named keychains of mine in the past… and present, actually. I get a little twinge of sadness when my click-pencil runs out of lead. The remarkable thing is that I feel so attached to these objects, yet I can’t get close to living, breathing people.

 article-1162402-03ED9AAF000005DC-69_634x384

Emphasis on “living” and “breathing.”

I’m pretty sure my Aspergers factors in here, big time. I’m simply more comfortable with objects over people. Interactions with objects don’t come with the same stresses that interactions with people do – social anxiety, fear of judgement, rejection, etc. It’s easier to deal with the simplicity of objects that the complexity of the person-to-person social exchange, And, perhaps, there lies the solution…

Treating people like objects.

I’m a genius!

6920878766_872530b1fa_z

I absolutely love my new rain coat. It’s name is Todd.

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I get it. We keep our cars/vans until they’re gasping for their last breath…and when it’s time to say goodbye I go into mourning. Tears and everything. – Amy

  2. Hahaha I love your new raincoat! Wonderful post! Sometimes I forget even things like this need a period of transition for my Aspies.

  1. Pingback: Aspie X Factor | Catching up with seventhvoice | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Leave a Reply

